Sandhills Community College and Jon and Jackie Giles were the hosts for second annual Giles Leadership Academy—a leadership development retreat for twenty-one students from select curriculum programs who plan to graduate in May.

The Pinehurst Resort Members Club was again the site, where college President John Dempsey, Executive Director of Habitat for Humanity Amie Fraley, Major Jason Howk (Ret.) and other college leaders conducted workshop sessions and provided guidance on developing leadership skills to guide the students’ career advancement and community service commitment.

The daylong session provided the opportunity for scholars from the gamut of studies to share their journeys toward leadership with proven leaders from academics, military, business, and non-profit organizations. From a discussion of General George C. Marshall’s model of selfless leadership to Habitat for Humanity’s selfless giving focus, the students developed a vision of the complexity of leadership and the proven pathways to those roles.

Jon and Jackie Giles created the Giles Leadership Academy in 2017 to provide leadership training to SCC graduates as they close out their academic career. Department chairs were asked to select students for the Academy based on academic performance and capacity for leadership.

Those participating and their majors were: Harrison W. Barber, Associate in Fine Arts in Music; Kelsey T. Bowman, Therapeutic Massage; Catherine Cheatle, Computer Engineering Technology; Chelsea Dukes, Associate in Arts; Christopher D. Ford, Associate in Science; Paige Garner, Associate in Science; Vincent M. Garzo, Golf Course Management; Justin Heston, Associate in Engineering; Sara Huston, Surgical Technology; Callie Ingram, Early Childhood Education; Kaitlyn Kuta, Cosmetology; Shauntre Lilley , Associate in Science; Jason Matthews, Culinary Arts; Tyler J. Meneghini, IT Computer Programming; Leigh P. Metcalf, Medical Laboratory Technology; Savannah M. Notton, Associate in Arts; Jonathan Rodgers, Architectural Technology; Sally Sher, Accounting; Jessica Smith, Radiography; Kirsten Steingraber, Associate in Arts; and Amanda Zerbel, Associate in Science.



Print Friendly, PDF & Email