Two rising ninth graders have been chosen to receive four-year scholarships at The O’Neal School. Emma Sager has been awarded the Helen Pringle Holmberg Scholarship. TJ McGraw is the recipient of the Hannah Marie Bradshaw Scholarship.

The Holmberg and Bradshaw Scholars are selected based upon the students’ demonstration of scholastic ability, leadership potential and strength of character. The scholarship process included an extensive application with essays and an interview with members of O’Neal’s Board of Trustees and O’Neal Head of School John Elmore.

The Helen Pringle Holmberg Scholarship is given in honor of Helen Holmberg, an O’Neal graduate and the School’s first John Motley Morehead Scholarship recipient. Helen’s father, the late Centre W. Holmberg, Jr., served as chairman of O’Neal’s Board of Trustees.

Current O’Neal students that meet grade point average requirements and are nominated by O’Neal faculty are considered. This scholarship recognizes leadership, scholarship, moral force of character and physical vigor.  

Emma is the daughter of Thomas and Elizabeth Sager of Whispering Pines.  She is the 21st Holmberg Scholar.  In addition to her passion for travel and learning about cultures and people, she is a member of the Leadership Club and plays volleyball, basketball and soccer. 


Courtesy photo of Hannah Marie Bradshaw Scholarship Recipient TJ McGraw with Stan and Jean Bradshaw.

The Hannah Marie Bradshaw Scholarship is given in memory of Hannah Marie Bradshaw. Hannah spent half of her life as an O’Neal student and she loved the School as a positive place that helped her reach her true potential. Students not currently enrolled at O’Neal are considered.

TJ McGraw comes from West Pine Middle School and is the 14th recipient of the scholarship. He is the son of Lt. Col. Matthew and Mrs. Kimberly McGraw of West End.  An excellent student and an outstanding athlete, he is a leader in the classroom, captain on the athletic field and TJ is also active in his church.  

Applications for these scholarships are accepted at the beginning of each calendar year. Visit  The O’Neal School website for more information.

Courtesy feature photo of Helen Pringle Holmberg Scholarship Recipient Emma Sager with Head of School John Elmore.



Print Friendly, PDF & Email