nurse exceptional care patient

Logan Ledwell, R.N., has been recognized as a DAISY Award winner for FirstHealth of the Carolinas. 

Ledwell, who serves as a nurse in Moore Regional Hospital’s neurological care unit, was nominated by the husband of a patient who came to MRH in late 2019. 

“On Nov. 7, 2019, my wife suffered a brain bleed and went into a coma. After spending 37 days at UNC Health, she was transferred to Moore Regional. A few days later, I met Logan and soon discovered her to be the best nurse ever,” the husband wrote in his nomination letter. 

The husband said he shared his and his wife’s love story with Logan, including showing her pictures. 

“Logan put lipstick on my wife, brought her personal stuff from home and French braided her hair and had my wife’s lipstick on to perfection to surprise me,” he wrote. “Logan is exactly what any family member wants as a nurse! God, I hope she never loses the love for her profession. Logan truly touched my heart and eased our pain, just with her smile and extra care.” 

The DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nurses was established by the Daisy Foundation, a not-for-profit, based in Glen Ellen, Calif. The foundation was started by family members in memory of J. Patrick Barnes, who died at the age of 33 from complications of Idiopathic Thrombocytopenic Purpura, a little known but not uncommon auto-immune disease. 

The care Barnes and his family received from nurses inspired this unique means of thanking nurses for making a profound difference in the lives of their patients and patients’ families. Today, there are more than 2,800 health care facilities in all 50 states and 17 other countries honoring their nurses with the DAISY Award. 

FirstHealth of the Carolinas, which includes Moore Regional Hospital, Moore Regional Hospital – Richmond, Moore Regional Hospital – Hoke and Montgomery Memorial Hospital, recognizes an extraordinary nurse each month and has since 2014. 

For more information on the DAISY Award, or to nominate a deserving nurse, visit FirstHealth’s website

Courtesy photo: From left to right: Debbie Brand, Deana Kerns, Laura Stone, Logan Ledwell and Karen Robeano. 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email