State Rep. McNeill announces retirement

State Rep. Allen McNeill announced his retirement on Monday.

McNeill has served North Carolina House District 78 comprising Randolph County and a part of northern Moore County. McNeill said he is fulfilling his current term which ends on Dec. 31, 2022. 

“It has been the privilege and honor of my life to have served the citizens of Randolph and Moore County these past 9+ years,” said McNeill in a press release. “I and my office have tried to make constituent service our number one priority, having helped hundreds of people through the years with a variety of different issues. I have worked hard to bring resources and jobs to my district. Helping sponsor and pass legislation to save Randolph Health (hospital) was a particular blessing for me. I have sponsored numerous bills, many of which became law, and worked hard as Chairman of the Justice and Public Safety Committee to make sure that the needs of our courts, prisons, probation, law enforcement, wildlife, National Guard, and emergency management was fully funded.”

McNeill has been elected five times. He is the chair of the Justice and Public Safety Appropriations Committee and the Pension Committee. He is the vice chairman of the Appropriations Committee and vice chairman of the Judiciary 2 Committee. He is a member of the Election Law and Campaign Finance Committee, the Transportation Committee, the Strategic Transportation Planning and Long Term Financing Committee, and the Justice and Public Safety Oversight Committee.

“I will miss the joy of helping people and passing legislation to make our lives better,” said McNeill. “With my time at the Sheriff’s Office and the legislature I have been involved in public service for approximately 45 years. I am sure that God has other important work for me and look forward to starting another phase of life after Dec. 31, 2022. Until then I want to make sure that my constituents know that for the next thirteen months I still represent Randolph / Moore Counties in North Carolina House District 78.”

Print Friendly, PDF & Email