Beginning Dec. 1, vehicles that are at least 20 years old will no longer need to pass a yearly emissions test in the 22 North Carolina counties that require testing. 

Vehicles under 20 years old will still need to pass the test in Alamance, Buncombe, Cabarrus, Cumberland, Davidson, Durham, Forsyth, Franklin, Gaston, Guilford, Iredell, Johnston, Lee, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, New Hanover, Onslow, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, Union and Wake counties.

All North Carolina counties, including Moore, still require a vehicle safety inspection before it can be registered or the registration be renewed.

More information on emissions and safety inspections is available on the NCDOT website.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email