Graduates turn their tassels at SCC

Achievements of the Sandhills Community College class of 2021 were celebrated on Saturday, May 15 on the McNeill-Woodward Green. The college held two ceremonies. At 8:30 a.m., those receiving an associate degree were honored, and those receiving an associate in applied science, diploma, or certificate were recognized at 11:30 a.m.

Pomp and Circumstance began the ceremony, and President John Dempsey and Executive Vice President Brenda Jackson welcomed those gathered. Music Professor Ryan Book performed The Star-Spangled Banner on guitar.

Student Government Association President Megan Ramsey gave the student welcome, and Chairman of the board of trustees George W. Little welcomed the crowd on behalf of the Board.

Honorary Degree Awardees

Three honorary degrees were awarded. R. Emmet Logan and Stanley J. Bradshaw were awarded a Doctor of Laws and Cynthia Ann McDonald received the honor of Doctor of Humane Letters.

Emmet Logan and his wife, Mary, have been members of the college family since 1992. Logan Hall bears their name, as does a scholarship fund that helps over a dozen students annually pursue their dreams of a college education. Logan is a member of the College’s Foundation Board.

The generosity of the Stan and Jean Bradshaw Foundation helped create the Bradshaw Performing Arts Center, and the soon-to-be-constructed center for nursing education, Foundation Hall. Bradshaw is a member of the College’s Foundation Board.

Cynthia McDonald taught English at SCC for over 30 years. In 1984 her community service was honored when then-Governor Jim Hunt awarded her the state’s highest honor by inducting her into the Order of the Longleaf Pine.

Student Awards

Sarah Wilson received The Mary Luman Meyer Award — given to the student who contributed most to the life of the college during their two years at Sandhills. Wilson earned an Associate in Fine Arts.

The Faculty Award was presented to Caden McIntire for his outstanding character and academic achievement. The faculty of the college chooses the recipient. Professor Nevius Toney presented the award. McIntire earned an Associate in Science degree.

Michaela Guden was presented with The President’s Award by Brenda Jackson. Guden had the highest academic average with the most credit hours earned. As such, she was the Valedictorian of the Class of 2021. Guden earned an Associate in Applied Science in Cosmetology.

Following student recognitions, the presentation of candidates for graduation was carried out. For the academic year 2020-21 Sandhills awarded 635 degrees, 24 diplomas and 41 certificates. Graduates of the class of 2020 were given the opportunity to participate in this ceremony since graduation was online last year.


Courtesy photo/Contributed.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email