Southern Pines to begin resurfacing project

The N.C. Department of Transportation is distributing more than $143.1 million in state street aid to municipalities, also known as Powell Bill funds, to 509 municipalities statewide.

The amount each municipality receives is based on a formula set by the N.C. General Assembly, with 75 percent of the funds based on population, and 25 percent based on the number of locally-maintained street miles.

Moore County’s incorporated towns will receive over $1.53 million for road repairs. The initial allocation, or half the total, was distributed this week. The other half will be paid by Jan. 1.

Below is the amount each Moore County town received:

Aberdeen: $230,060.50

Cameron: $7,845.59

Carthage: $80,069.86

Foxfire Village: $44,291.20

Pinebluff: $50,900.24

Pinehurst: $483,175.01

Robbins: $32,660.86

Southern Pines: $408,003.47

Taylortown: $19,328.33

Vass: $31,737.85

Whispering Pines: $142,554.83

The Powell Bill funds are used primarily to resurface municipal streets but can also be used to maintain, repair, construct or widen streets, bridges and drainage areas. Municipalities can also use Powell Bill funds to plan, construct and maintain bike paths, greenways or sidewalks.

“Powell Bill funding makes many critical transportation improvements possible for communities from the mountains to the coast,” said State Transportation Secretary Eric Boyette. “Municipalities can use these funds on a variety of projects that make North Carolina an even better place to live and work.”      

The fund is named for Junius K. Powell, a former state senator and mayor of Whiteville. Powell was the primary sponsor of the 1951 bill that helped the state’s cities with urban road problems. The first allocation of Powell Bill funds was for $4.5 million and was distributed to 386 cities and towns.

Feature photo by Sandhills Sentinel Photographer John Patota.



Print Friendly, PDF & Email