Staff, students saluted at session

The Moore County Board of Education honored staff and students at its March 14 regular business meeting.

Honoree Jennifer Blake with Carthage Elementary School has been serving the elementary school for 10 years and has been active in the Parent Teacher Association and forms relationships with her students.

Honoree Misty Spivey, with West Pine Elementary School, is the school nurse and has been kind, welcoming, and reassuring.

January’s Student of the Month, Sarah Holder, is with Pinecrest High School. She helped organize a food drive and campus cleanup and helps with special needs students. She is the Commander Chief Master Sergeant in Junior Reserve Officers’ Training Corps. She earned her pilot’s license with the U.S. Air Force Academy.

Student of the Month, Tanner Barber, is with the Community Learning Center at Pinckney. The junior is graduating early. He has been a volunteer at his aunt’s day care, is an example for his peers, thrives in his course work and plans on a career in sports medicine.

The board recognized two North Carolina High School Athletic Association individual wrestling state champions.

Aiden McCafferty, 170 pounds, with Union Pines High School, won the 3A individual championship. He finished undefeated with 51 wins.

Jayden Dobeck, 160 pounds, with Pinecrest High School, won the 4A individual championship. He finished with one loss as a junior and had 32 wins.

The girls bowling 4A state champion was Catherine Vierwinden with Pinecrest High School. She won the semifinals with 146-145. She won the state championship with 192-191.

The board also recognized newly certified national board-certified teachers. They were Amanda Blake, Lauren Carrier, Rachel Lambert, Mindy Raker and Tiffany Sandlin.

Certification can take up to five years to complete samples and analysis. Certified teachers are considered the best in the nation.

The board recognized recertified national board teachers. They were Dr. Michelle Bennett, Tracy Cropley, Jessica DeMestre, James Horwath, Ashley Lynn, Jamie Perchinsky, Renee Portfilio, Michelle Swinnie, and Summer Thomas.

Feature photo: School board honors staff and students at its March 14 meeting. Photos courtesy of Moore County Schools.

~Written by Sandhills Sentinel Journalist Stephanie M. Sellers. Contact her at [email protected].

Print Friendly, PDF & Email