Hudson co-sponsors bill to award Congressional Gold Medals to fallen service members

U.S. Rep. Richard Hudson (NC-08) co-sponsored legislation introduced Tuesday by Congresswoman Lisa McClain (MI-10) to posthumously award the Congressional Gold Medal to the 13 U.S. military service members who were killed in Afghanistan last week.

The legislation will award the Congressional Gold Medal to Staff Sgt. Darin Taylor Hoover, Sgt. Johanny Rosario Pichardo, Sgt. Nicole Gee, Cpl. Hunter Lopez, Cpl. Daegan Page, Cpl. Humberto Sanchez, Cpl. David Lee Espinoza, Lance Cpl. Jared Schmitz, Lance Cpl. Rylee McCollum, Lance Cpl. Dylan Merola, Lance Cpl. Kareem Nikoui, Hospitalman Maxton Soviak and Staff Sgt. Ryan Knauss.

“The brave men and women in uniform lost in Kabul risked their lives to save our fellow citizens and allies. As Fort Bragg’s Congressman, I continue to pray for the family of Staff Sgt. Ryan Knauss, as well as the families of each of these heroes. This legislation will help ensure our nation will never forget their sacrifices,” said Rep. Hudson.

“These heroic men and women are gone far too soon, and we must honor them for their bravery in helping U.S. citizens and Afghan allies safely evacuate Afghanistan,” said Rep. McClain. “My heart aches for the families and loved ones of our service members. We will always remember their service and pay tribute to their sacrifice.”

Feature photo: Army Staff Sgt. Ryan C. Knauss, 23, of Pinebluff, originally from Corryton, Tennessee, stationed at Fort Bragg, was one of the 13 U.S. troops killed in a suicide bombing at Afghanistan’s Kabul airport on Thursday. He was part of the 9th Psychological Operations Battalion and 8th Psychological Operations Group. Photo courtesy of U.S. Army Special Forces Command.



Print Friendly, PDF & Email