The O’Neal School Varsity Girls Golf Team won the Division 2 NCISAA State Championship on Tuesday, October 22 at the Country Club of Whispering Pines. A first-time state tournament appearance for the girls team, they entered the competition as the #1 seed.

With identical scores of 238 back to back days, the Falcons held off Carmel Christian Academy by 4 shots. O’Neal was led by Nicole Adam’s two day total of 143 (70-73 – finishing 2nd as an individual) and Alex Lapple’s 148 (74-74 – finishing 3rd as an individual). Both players were named to the All-State team. Lauren Kuhn played well carding a 185 (94-91), Molly Haarlow’s 203 (103-100) and Mary Earhart’s 204 (105-99) rounded out the scoring.

With heavy rains in question for day two, the schedule was changed to a “shot gun” start allowing the Falcons to close out a great finish on the course.

“It was an awesome experience for our ladies and for them to persevere in some tough conditions was so rewarding for them,” says Head Coach Jeff Haarlow. “To achieve the level of competing and winning a state championship in only their fourth year of existence speaks to the character and hard work of the ladies. Our team consists of two eighth-graders, a freshman, a sophomore and a proven senior. As the team continues to strengthen, I look forward to what the future holds. Our senior Nicole Adam has had such a wonderful career and to cap it off with a state championship is terrific.” 

Nicole Adam will be joining the UNC- Chapel Hill Women’s Golf program to begin the fall of 2020.  Team members are: Nicole Adam, Alexandra Barnwell, Mary Earhart, Molly Haarlow, Kristin Howell, Lauren Kuhn and Alexsandra Lapple.

The North Carolina Independent School Athletic Association (NCISAA) has ranked O’Neal as having the top athletic program among Division 2A schools in the state and has awarded O’Neal with the Wells Fargo Cup for 2018-2019. The Falcons are a part of the Tri-TAC conference. 

Courtesy photo: NCISAA Division 2 State Champions – (L-R) Alexandra Barnwell, Lauren Kuhn, Nicole Adam, Alexsandra Lapple, Molly Haarlow, Mary Earhart and Kristin Howell.



Print Friendly, PDF & Email