Three rising ninth graders have been chosen to receive four-year scholarships at The O’Neal School. Vivienne Rhue has been awarded the Helen Pringle Holmberg Scholarship. Arianna Cappiello and Zoe Mount are the recipients of the Hannah Marie Bradshaw Scholarship.

The Holmberg and Bradshaw Scholars are selected based on the students’ demonstration of scholastic ability, leadership potential, and strength of character. The scholarship process included an extensive application with essays and an interview with members of O’Neal’s Board of Trustees and Interim Head of Upper School Nicole Camastra.

The Helen Pringle Holmberg Scholarship is given in honor of Helen Holmberg Herbert, an O’Neal graduate, and the school’s first John Motley Morehead Scholarship recipient. Helen’s father, the late Centre W. Holmberg, Jr., served as chairman of O’Neal’s Board of Trustees. Current O’Neal students who meet grade-point average requirements and are nominated by O’Neal faculty are considered. This scholarship recognizes leadership, scholarship, moral force of character, and physical vigor. The scholarship covers 75% of tuition renewable every year of upper school as long the scholar maintains a 3.5-grade-point average.

Vivienne Rhue is the daughter of Dr. Jennifer Rhue and the Honorable Chris Rhue of Wagram. She is the 26th Holmberg Scholar. Vivienne has served as a strong team player on the O’Neal Science Olympiad team as well as Battle of the Books during her time in middle school. She plays tennis and basketball and presently plays the violin for the Carolina Philharmonic Junior Orchestra.

The Hannah Marie Bradshaw Scholarship is given in memory of Hannah Marie Bradshaw. Hannah spent half of her life as an O’Neal student, and she loved the School as a positive place that helped her reach her true potential. Students not currently enrolled at O’Neal are considered. The scholarship is intended for deserving students demonstrating financial need. The award of $6,000 helps to cover over and above what is awarded with financial aid. It is renewable every year of upper school as long as the student maintains a 3.5 grade-point average.

O’Neal School announces Holmberg, Bradshaw Scholarship recipients
Bradshaw Scholar: Arianna Cappiello with Jean and Stan Bradshaw | Zoe Mount is not pictured

Bradshaw Scholar Arianna Cappiello comes to O’Neal from James H. Moran Middle School in Wallingford, Connecticut. She is the daughter of Mirissa and Joshua Cappiello. She has been a strong participant in the Middle School Leadership Conference and sings in the middle school chorus. Regarding athletics, Arianna has played softball for six years.

Bradshaw Scholar Zoe Mount comes to O’Neal from Kelly Mill Med Pro Middle School in Blythewood, SC. She is the daughter of Elissa and Jeremy Mount. Zoe enjoys participating in her church youth group, honor band, and running cross country.

Applications for these scholarships are accepted at the beginning of each calendar year. Visit The O’Neal School website for more information.

Feature photo: Holmberg Scholar: Vivienne Rhue with Interim Head of Upper School Nicole Camastra.

Contributed/Courtesy photos.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email