Nine O’Neal Upper School students were inducted into the National Honor Society on Wednesday, December 6th. During the ceremony, current members presented each of the four characteristics of membership: scholarship, leadership, service and character.

Students must demonstrate excellence in these areas, in addition to maintaining a certain grade point average to be considered for the National Honor Society. The standard GPA for induction to the National Honor Society is 3.0; however, The O’Neal School requires a 3.60 GPA for consideration.

New inductees are: Class of 2018: Xirui Du, Jieying Han, and Signe Healy; Class of 2019: Tazreean Ahmed, Zirui Guo, Talia Ferrerio, Fanqi Meng, Ryan Ritter-Diosdado, and Peter Seifert.

Brenda Jackson was the guest speaker for the ceremony. She encouraged students to be involved and help others in a meaningful way with careful thought and consideration.

She noted that a person who is happy and willing to help others is a great value.  Mrs. Jackson is executive vice president of Sandhills Community College. She previously worked at O’Neal as assistant headmaster and director of institutional advancement. All three of her children are O’Neal graduates.

Serving students from Pre-K3 through Grade 12, The O’Neal School is a college preparatory independent school located in the Sandhills of North Carolina. The School has dual accreditation from the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) and the Southern Association of Independent Schools (SAIS). 100% of its graduates are accepted to colleges and universities throughout the nation. Go to for more information.

Feature photo: O’Neal National Honor Society Inductees (L-R): Front: Tazreean Ahmed, Jieying Han, Zirui Guo, Xirui Du, Talia Ferrerio, Back (L-R): Peter Seifert, Ryan Ritter-Diosdado, Signe Healy, Fanqi Meng.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email